skip to Main Content

What are Chakras?

Chakras are energy centres, or openings, through which we receive energy into our bodies. Chakras take in the energy your body receives from the world around you, and manipulate it for the body’s benefit, before radiating the resulting energy out of the body.

Chakras are spinning vortexes of energy and light that greatly affect our well-being, whether we are aware of them or not. It is generally agreed that there are seven major chakras distributed throughout the human body.

Each chakra is associated with specific organs and endocrine glands. Chakras process subtle energy and convert it into chemical, hormonal and cellular changes in the body. Each chakra vibrates at a different frequency, colour and on a different musical note, and has either male or female polarity.

The 7 master chakras are on the centre line of the body with the first five embedded within the spinal column. The root chakra opens downwards, the crown charka opens upwards. The other five open from the front to the back of the body. Each of the seven major colours has therapeutic qualities that can be linked through their resonance to the seven master charkas.

Our chakras, like our Aura, are affected by everything that happens to us – good things as well as bad.​

The coloured rays affect our physical bodies, emotions, moods, mental faculties and spiritual nature. We all have an intimate relationship with colour. Sometimes we give ourselves a subconscious colour treatment by choosing jewellery or clothes of a certain colour, or by surrounding ourselves with specific colour vibrations in our homes, offices and gardens.​

Chakras are the gateways to the soul and the energy centres of consciousness.

The Base and Crown Chakras are always open to allow the energy to run into the Crown from Cosmic Energy and up into the Base – Earth Energies – connecting Physical and Spiritual energies.

Chakras are receivers, transformers and distributors of the various forms of Vital Life Energy. They take up vital energy from the subtle energy bodies, the surroundings, the cosmos and transform them into the frequencies needed by the various areas of the physical and the subtle bodies. Where there is sufficient energy, it is given off into the surroundings.​

What are the meanings of Chakras and their colours?

​Each colour is connected to a specific chakra and it has its own meanings and properties. Here are the seven chakras, their colours and meanings – explained in a clear way ordered from root to crown:

Crystal Therapy

Crystal therapy is an ancient…

Read more


REIKI Reiki is an incredibly…

Read more

Crown Chakra – Sahasrara

INSPIRATION - The Violet Chakra…

Read more

Third Eye Chakra – Anja


Read more

Throat Chakra – Vishuddha


Read more

Heart Chakra – Anahata


Read more

Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura


Read more

Sacral Chakra – Swadhisthana


Read more


Chakras have colours because they vibrate with different frequencies. Each chakra has its own density and pulse which can be perceived as colour, sound, or even a feeling.

Chakra colours and their order correlate with seven colours that compose the sunlight. These colours are red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet.​

You can observe these seven colours when you project the light through the glass prism. A prism breaks the white light into different colours because each of these colours has a different wavelength.

While chakra science has a long historical tradition, the concept of chakra colours is quite new. It was first presented in the 1970s by an English writer and philosopher Christopher Hills.

He was a versatile scholar and practitioner of esoteric traditions who have linked the theory of chakras with light frequencies and vibration.

His ideas were vastly accepted and nowadays the understanding of chakras is intimately linked with colours and frequencies, not only within western energy healing practices but also in eastern traditions. The theory of chakra colours is based on the connection of chakras with the colours of the light spectrum (rainbow) and vibrational frequencies of specific colours.

Everything in nature has its universal logic, and in particular, on the level of energy and vibration, there are always co-relations. For example, these relations exist between frequencies, colours, sounds, and when speaking about perception also levels of consciousness.

Back To Top